The border crossing permit with Kosovo is obtained online at e-Albania

The border crossing permit with Kosovo is obtained online at e-Albania

On June 12, the free traffic regime on the border between Albania and Kosovo entered into force, with the aim of facilitating local border traffic within the framework of the joint commitments of the governments of our two countries.

Residents of the border area with Kosovo will be allowed to cross the land border by presenting standard identification documents, including the Local Border Crossing Permit, which is applied for and then secured through the e-Albania government portal.

Among the 1240 services of public institutions, the service that e-Albania users find with the name "Local Border Crossing Permit" (https://e-albania.al/eAlbaniaServices/UseService.aspx?service_code=15046) has recently been added. Through this service, only residents near the border can apply to be provided with a transit permit, through a simple electronic procedure, which only requires the uploading of four documents:

· Photocopy of valid travel document (passport, identity card);

· A photograph (47mmX36mm), taken no earlier than 6 months from the date of application;

· Individual declaration on the motive of crossing and staying in the Border Zone, Albania;

· Declaration/authorization.

Within a 30-day period, applicants whose request is approved are provided with a special permit that they find in the "My Documents" section of their personal account in e-Albania. Even for those citizens whose application is rejected, the structures of the State Police dealing with the handling of cases will notify the applicants of the reasons for the rejection.

The Local Border Crossing Permit has a 5-year validity period and the application procedure is carried out against no monetary obligation.

This new development for the easy movement of citizens across the border was made possible thanks to an agreement signed on November 26, 2021 between the governments of Albania and Kosovo, which foresees the existence of a territorial-administrative entity. Beneficiaries are residents of towns and villages located within 30 kilometers of the border, who can travel and stay in the border area for no more than 90 days, within 180 calendar days.