Lajme nga Bota

Travelers will be charged for entering the EU

Travelers will be charged for entering the EU

The EU has announced the launch of the visa waiver scheme, ETIAS, which will be launched in May 2023.

The new scheme, ETIAS, is not the same as a visa - it is faster, done online and does not require biometric information - there is still a procedure and a cost to get it, more like the US scheme, ESTA.

The movement affects about 60 countries, including the US and the UK, which lost their freedom of movement after Brexit.

The ETIAS authorization is valid for an unlimited number of entries for three years. However, holders must adhere to the rules of immigration and excessive stay. Currently, third-country nationals cannot stay longer than 90 days in the block as a whole, for any 180-day period.

Cost: € 7 ($ 7.35) for those aged 18 to 70. It is not yet clear whether others will have a reduced fee or will be able to apply for free. In comparison, the US charges $ 21 for an ESTA authorization.

Participating countries

Once Etias is fully launched, most EU countries will require a valid Etias when you arrive at their borders. Participating countries are: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovakia , Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

The purpose of ETIAS

Etia's main goal is to improve security without making international travel challenging for citizens of countries that do not currently need visas to visit. Over time, this system is expected to reduce the spread of crime and prevent terrorist attacks.