Tech

Not everything is secret in encrypted apps like iMessage and WhatsApp

Not everything is secret in encrypted apps like iMessage and WhatsApp

With encrypted messaging technology, no one but you and the person you're writing to can read the conversation. But not everything is encrypted in encrypted apps. This may mean that what you type may be stored on company computers.

The biggest encryption caveat is for the built-in messaging apps on iPhone and most Android phones. These are Apple's Messages app, also known as iMessage, and Google's Messages app.

If you use the Apple app, the texts you send and receive are only encrypted if everyone else in the conversation is using that app. If the text you see is blue, the content of the messages is encrypted for everyone in the conversation.

But the scary green bubbles are Apple's warning. If you're in a three-person group chat using Apple's Chat app and one person has an Android phone, no one's texts are encrypted.

Each of your cell phone providers can store every word of your communication. These companies can, in theory, read your messages.

Google's chat app has the same encryption loophole. (For most people in the United States, Messages from Google is the default messaging app on Android phones.)

Your texts in the Google chat app are only encrypted if everyone else is using that app.

Google indicates whether your texts are encrypted with signs such as a lock icon under the texts and another on the send button.

For most people using Meta Messenger, formerly Facebook Messenger, someone in a chat needs to turn on the option for your communications to be encrypted.

Are your message backups automatically encrypted, with no way for the app company to decrypt them?

WhatsApp and Signal do not allow you to save copies of your texts or call logs on the app creators' computers.

This means that they have no copies of the saved messages.

Por nëse blini një telefon të ri dhe harroni fjalëkalimin tuaj, WhatsApp dhe Signal nuk mund t'ju ndihmojnë të transferoni tekstet tuaja të vjetra.

Nëse rezervoni kopje nga aplikacioni i bisedës së Apple dhe Meta Messenger, kompanitë kanë çelësat për të zhbërë atë që është shkruar në kopjet e bisedave të koduara.

Apple kohët e fundit prezantoi një zgjedhje për të enkriptuar plotësisht kopjet rezervë të llogarive iCloud, që do të thotë se as Apple nuk mund të zhbllokojë tekstet tuaja të kopjuara.

Nëse zgjidhni atë opsion, Apple nuk mund të ndihmojë në rikuperimin e bisedave tuaja nëse harroni fjalëkalimin e llogarisë tuaj.

Ky rrezik është arsyeja pse Apple e bën të vështirë aktivizimin e këtij funksioni dhe kërkon që ju të listoni një plan B nëse harroni fjalëkalimin tuaj, si p.sh. një kontakt personal që e di kodin tuaj të deshifrimit.

WhatsApp ka një opsion për të ruajtur kopje rezervë të mesazheve tuaja në cloud të Apple ose Google. WhatsApp nuk i ruan ato kopje rezervë.

Për Messages nga Google, kompania thotë se bisedat e mbështetura në kompjuterët e kompanisë janë të koduara automatikisht për sa kohë që telefoni juaj Android ka një ekran që duhet ta zhbllokoni me një fjalëkalim ose një metodë tjetër.

Meta Messenger ka testuar një opsion që njerëzit të aktivizojnë kopje rezervë të enkriptuar plotësisht.

Shumica e aplikacioneve të enkriptuara ruajnë disa “meta të dhëna” ose detaje rreth jush ose çfarë bëni me aplikacionin. Ata mund të marrin meta të dhënat nëse është e nevojshme.

Kompanitë e aplikacioneve nuk janë domosdoshmërisht specifike se cilat meta të dhëna ruajnë dhe cilat mund të zhbllokojnë. Ky informacion mund t'ju bëjë më pak privat.

WhatsApp, for example, may have your general physical location when you use the app and the names of your group chats. WhatsApp has the ability to record the phone numbers that your number communicates with.

WhatsApp says these details can help identify spammers and aid in investigations of potential criminal activity, including people sharing images of child sexual abuse.

For extra privacy, WhatsApp, Meta Messenger, and Signal have an option to automatically delete conversations in just 24 hours from the phones of everyone in a conversation.

Even this is not iron. Someone can take a picture of your messages before they disappear.